The Wedding Outfit Experience

Today is the day!!!! I’m getting married!!! I didn’t want to leave you without something to read after being absent for the majority of the year, so I thought I would leave you with a post about my wedding outfit and the experiences I had with trying to get the look I had dreamed of!

As a little girl I ( as I am sure many other little girls) had always dreamed of my big day… The Dress, The flowers, that long walk down the aisle… I never thought of the practicalities or the stress of it all- let alone the expense! Here is a tale of what happened to me while trying to source my outfit!

The Dress- as a girl I had always wanted a floor length cloud type dress- masses of fabric and a sweet heart neckline, almost basque style… as a grown up I still wanted aspect of this, but with a husband to be demanding a mod style wedding, I knew the dream dress would never fit in with our “theme”. I was having a look on Rock n Roll bride for some ideas and I found a beautiful tea length dress, from the blog i managed to find out that the dress was from a designer called Candy Anthony… I knew I needed a dress created by her! I promptly booked myself an appointment at her studio at the Oxo tower and along I went with my mum and my aunt. Her studio is a dream, full of tea length dresses and tulle! and how they create you dress is inspired. you start with a basic dress and try different ribbons, tulle skirts and overlays until you create your dream dress. The have the ability to make every girl feel like a princess!

Underwear- A subject that many would blush at! My mother thought it would be a brilliant idea to book us into Rigby and Peller to have a totally uplifting (pardon the pun) experience when it came to geting the wedding underwear. It was so hot in the changing rooms and the strapless bras the brought to me were slightly too snug on my back so they kept rolling up. The assistant i had kept asking me if i could just have the bra sewn into my dress.. if i am spending ยฃ100 on a bra i want to reuse it again they ended up putting a bra extender on the back and putting my into pull in pants… by this stage I can only use a photo to show you how I felt….92c702243388df4fcacfdebc576de7dcย And I felt so deflated I actually bought the lot-I think this was out of desperation. We went for a quick drink stop and was telling my mother all about how I felt and I decided to return it all. The next hour of my life turned into a frantic dash around oxford street I then ended up inย marks and spencer where I found the most perfect body shape wear. MASSIVE sigh of relief!

The shoes- I found a beautiful pair of shoes on a website called DIY dress. As I had purchased the Bridesmaid dresses from there without a drama I thought this would be the case with my wedding shoes. WRONG! They asked for the with and the length of my feet to ensure i had the correct size. My mum helped me to triple check this as I wanted these shoes so much. I ordered the size that would best suit my feet and all was good with the world… or so I thought…. the shoes arrived I tore the outer wrapping with excitement, that’s when i realized the shoe box was really beaten up and torn. I thought to myself “it’s OK… It’s only the shoe box.” I removed the lid and the shoes were in perfect condition… however, When I tried the shoes on, they didn’t fit… by a whole 3 sizes! when i wrote to them to try and get them exchanged i was met with the response “you would be better off selling them on Ebay and then buying a new pair from us”.. to this i thought “no way, what if you send the wrong size again. I then found a Company called Charlotte Mills who make the most beautiful shoes, they have the “something old, Something new” tradition printed on the soles and they even have a silver sixpence in them… I purchased the style “Andi” with gold bows and my mum treated me to the matching bag.

So to close this post. Yes you can have your dream outfit and feel like a million dollars, but be prepared for the pitfalls that may put a bump in your journey to get there, and don’t let them dampen your experiences. If you turned up in a white bin bag, as long as you get to marry the one you love, that is all that matters!

By this point, i could have walked up the aisle and I may be Amy Rowling (such an odd thought).. we are going to ride into the sunset with our little shih tzu to Devon for a week, but we will back back again soon my lovelies with tales of fun and games!x

One thought on “The Wedding Outfit Experience

  1. What a perfect day, all that planning and feeling like a sad monkey was worth it! Even if the bows from Charlotte mills broke just before you walked down the aisle and had to be emergency repaired lol ๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ‘ก๐Ÿฐ๐Ÿ‘œ๐Ÿ‘™๐Ÿ‘ฐ๐Ÿผ๐ŸŽฉ๐Ÿ’

    Like

Leave a Reply

